Regional Workforce Development Committees Background

In November 2019, the provincial government mandated four new core activities for the NL Workforce Innovation Centre (NLWIC), including:

  • To develop regionally tailored workforce development action plans, including:
    • Development and dissemination of labour market information (LMI);
    • Identification of priority focus areas for training and skills development;
    • Collaborative use of labour market programs and services, including immigration related supports.
  • These Regional Workforce Development Committees are to serve as planning platforms for localized labour market activities and initiatives.

10 Regions, 10 Committees

The Regional Workforce Development Committees are a collaborative project between NLWIC and the Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills (IPGS). Each Committee includes the participation of the following government entities at the regional level:

  • The Department of Industry, Energy and Technology
  • The Department of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture
  • The Department of Immigration, Population Growth and Skills
  • The College of the North Atlantic
  • The Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Service Canada

Invited stakeholders are local, regional and provincial stakeholders who have a vested interest in workforce development, who are identified by the Regional Workforce Development Committees to contribute to particular meetings.

Each Committee is part of the evaluation of a concurrent research project with the Future Skills Centre, “Testing and Evaluating the Impact of a New Workforce Development Model in Newfoundland and Labrador.”